Skip to content

The Avengers out on DVD finally

September 27, 2012

image

I’ve been waiting for this release to come out on DVD ever since it was in the theater. So here are a few of my favorite moments from the movie The Avengers Let’s begin with the casting of Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury.

image

Mark Millar and Bryan Hitch wrote/drew Nick like this way back in 2002 in the Ultimates. When I first saw it, I thought it was kind of funny…then I realized this would be perfect as an Avengers movie. Who would have thought that a mere 10 years later…

image

Scarlett Johanssen as Black Widow? yes please. Her name is Scarlett and she is the perfect redhead for this role. Then Cap found in the ice as recreated from Avengers #4, 1963 by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby. Right on point. An iconic Avengers moment captured perfectly

image

Then for the first time on the screen, we see “The Big Three”. Been waiting to see them all together since the first Iron Man movie.

image

Then we get our first glimpse at the legendary S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier. Hells yea

image

image

And this next shot is what they refer to in comics as a “splash page”. All that is missing is a POW sound effect

image

and the fun goes on and on. this next shot is what I refer to as “Perez rooftops”. Kirby drew a lot of angles this way too, beautiful aerial shots of New York City rooftops

image

Harry Dean Stanton asking Bruce Banner if he’s an Alien? Coincidence? I think not. that was a good one Joss…i got it.

image

and here’s a nice Hulk double splash. He rampaged throughout the entire movie…for the first time this character was represented perfectly. And single handedly stole a lot of scenes

image

and of course Jim Starlin must be thrilled that his creation, Thanos, will be in the second Avengers movie. I know I am

image

and in the shot at the end of the credits, it looks like Chris Helmsworth worth it is about to crack up and break character. One of the funniest scenes in the entire movie

image

oh but I cannot forget this gem. that’s right…a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent playing Galaga. Thats right, I said Galaga bitch. My all time favorite video game makes a guest appearance. I guess it’s Joss Whedon’s favorite video game too…

image

what an amazing movie. do yourself a favor and go buy it now

From → miscellaneous

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

