Skip to content

That’s worth a dollar

July 8, 2013

I had this saying once. It went, “that’s worth a dollar.” It stated in a strip club actually but that’s beside the point. The point is, there are still things out there that are worth paying a measly one dollar bill for. And most of the time it’s really worth way more. But…since I only paid a dollar for “it” I felt like I had to start proclaiming it.

So, to those of you who don’t think $1.00 is worth much, I’m here to show you for FREE what I thought was worth a dollar:

1. Passport Infinity Machine 1976

20130708-022458.jpg

From Wikipedia: “Passport is a German jazz ensemble led by saxophonist Klaus Doldinger.

Passport was initiated in 1971 as a jazz fusion experimental group, similar to American groups such as Weather Report. The ensemble’s first recording was issued in 1971, and through the 1970s had a constantly revolving membership, though it continued to release albums frequently. The group was active into the 2000s, recording for Atlantic Records and Warner Bros. Records among others.”

First off that’s a kick ass cover illustration, credited only to ” Wandrey’s Studio”. Second of all, look at these slick ass dudes. They look like they can jam.

20130708-022746.jpg

2. The Trammps Disco Inferno also 1976

20130708-023256.jpg

Contains the song “Disco Inferno”. From the Wikipedia entry:
“Disco Inferno” is a 1976 song by The Trammps from the album of the same name. With two other cuts by the group it reached number one on the Billboard Hot Dance Club Play chart in early 1977, but had limited mainstream success in the U.S. until 1978, after being included on the soundtrack to the 1977 film Saturday Night Fever, when a re-release hit number 11 on the Hot 100.
It was also notably covered by Cyndi Lauper on the A Night at the Roxbury soundtrack[4] and Tina Turner on the What’s Love Got to Do with It soundtrack.
The refrain is not to be confused with the saying “Burn, Baby, Burn” which was used to refer to the Watts Riots.” And just look at how many red and white Evel Kinevel lookin’ jumpsuits that is.

20130708-023636.jpg

3. Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass The Brass Are Comin’ 1969

20130708-024255.jpg

From the liner notes, ” When I was a kid I wanted to be a cowboy and ride into town with my own gang. When I got older I wanted to be a trumpet player and ride into town with my own gang. When I got a little older I wanted to live on the beach and be surrounded by pretty girls. Then I wanted to do a TV special called the brass are coming.” Ok. Herb is more well known for writing the theme song (sorta) for the 1960s/70s TV show The Dating Game (a Chuck Barris Production)

4. Ok…so I know this next record looks pretty fucked up, but I promise you it’s NOT the most fucked up one of the bunch. Trust me. #4 is: The Songs of Al Jolson…by some weirdo Canadian dude named Norman Brooks.

20130708-030710.jpg

Nope I’m not kidding. From the back of the lp cover

20130708-025339.jpg

I’m pretty sure this album wasn’t authorized, sanctioned or otherwise approved by the Jolson estate either. I realize it doesn’t make it any better, but still, it’s so bizarre it was worth $1 to me. Now, as promised, this next one…um wins

5. Baby’s Gang Happy Song/Ice Cream

20130708-025648.jpg

Oh, I’m sorry. In case you didn’t see it the first time, here it is closer.

20130708-025748.jpg

What the fuck.

20130708-025812.jpg

Now…what could these amazing albums possibly sound like????

Pay me a buck and I’ll tell you

From → music

One Comment
  1. Really cool post, like it a lot!

Leave a Reply

